By Michael Oleaga / ( | First Posted: Jan 12, 2013 11:42 AM EST

Miss America 2013 contestant Lexie Madden of Wyoming. (Photo : Miss America Organization)

Wyoming is looking to make history tonight by winning their first Miss America crown.

As Miss Wyoming 2012, Lexie Madden will compete in the 2013 Miss America pageant against 52 other contestants from the remaining 49 states as well as Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and Washington D.C.

Miss Wyoming 2012 Lexie Madden (Photo Credit: Twitter/@lexisleigh12).
Miss Wyoming 2012 Lexie Madden (Photo Credit: Twitter/@lexisleigh12).

At 21-years old, Madden's scholastic ambition is to obtain a Doctorate degree in pediatric physical therapy. With the degree, she hopes to start a career of providing rehabilitation care for children.

As a student, Madden has received honors from the Cardinal Key National Honors Society, Hathaway Honors Scholarship Recipient, and placed on the Sheridan College Dean's List.

Prior to winning the Miss Wisconsin crown, she won the Miss Goshen County pageant.

In 2012, Wyoming failed to reach the Top 15 but did win the "Duke of Edinburgh Award" along with 13 other contestants.

The Miss America pageant offers up to $45 million in cash and scholarship assistance. The winner of Miss America does not get the entire prize as portions of the scholarship are made available to over 12,000 other women who compete in state and local competitions.

The 2013 Miss America pageant will be live on Saturday at 9 p.m. EST on ABC. A “20/20” special is scheduled to start at 8 p.m. EST, showcasing the behind the scenes preparations leading up to the pageant.

The 53 Contestants for Miss America 2013:

Miss Alabama: Anna Laura Bryan
Miss Alaska: Debbe Jo Ebben
Miss Arizona: Piper Stoeckel
Miss Arkansas: Sloane Roberts
Miss California: Leah Cecil
Miss Colorado: Hannah Porter
Miss Connecticut: Emily Audibert
Miss Delaware: Alyssa Murray
Miss District of Columbia: Allyn Rose
Miss Florida: Laura McKeeman
Miss Georgia: Leighton Jordan
Miss Hawaii: Skyler Kamaka
Miss Idaho: Whitney Wood
Miss Illinois: Megan Ervin
Miss Indiana: Merrie Beth Cox
Miss Iowa: Mariah Cary
Miss Kansas: Sloane Lewis
Miss Kentucky: Jessica Casebolt
Miss Louisiana: Lauren Vizza
Miss Maine: Molly Bouchard
Miss Maryland: Joanna Guy
Miss Minnesota Siri Freeh
Miss Massachusetts: Taylor Kinzler
Miss Michigan: Angela Venditti
Miss Minnesota: Siri Freeh
Miss Mississippi: Marie Wicks
Miss Missouri: Tippe Emmott

Miss Montana: Alexis Wineman
Miss Nebraska: Mariah Cook
Miss Nevada: Randi Sundquist
Miss New Hampshire: Megan Lyman
Miss New Jersey: Lindsey Petrosh
Miss New Mexico: Candice Bennatt
Miss New York: Mallory Hagan
Miss North Carolina: Arlie Honeycutt
Miss North Dakota: Rosie Sauvageau
Miss Ohio: Elisa McCracken
Miss Oklahoma: Alicia Clifton
Miss Oregon: Nicole Mead
Miss Pennsylvania: Jordyn Colao
Miss Puerto Rico: Kiaraliz Media
Miss Rhode Island: Kelsey Fournier
Miss South Carolina: Ali Rogers
Miss South Dakota: Calista Kirby
Miss Tennessee: Chandler Lawson
Miss Texas: DaNae Couch
Miss Utah: Kara Arnold
Miss Vermont: Chelsea Ingram
Miss Virgin Islands: Aniska Tonge
Miss Virginia: Rosemary Willis
Miss Washington: Mandy Schendel
Miss West Virginia: Kaitlin Gates
Miss Wisconsin: Kate Gorman

© 2015 Latinos Post. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.