By Jessica Michele Herring ( | First Posted: Sep 20, 2013 04:29 PM EDT

(Photo : YouTube)

A preview of Katy Perry's new album proved that she will remain the reigning queen of radio-friendly pop hits for quite some time. 

Katy Perry debuted 12 songs off her new album "Prism" at a press event in New York two weeks ago, CBS News reports. The album's songs reflected Perry's statement that although she's "older and wiser," she still wants to have a good time. 

She played the 12 new tracks in front of an audience of 100 music industry insiders and journalists. "Prism," which will drop on October 22, has many fun bubblegum-pop tracks, much like 2010's immensely successful "Teenage Dream."

The pop star played the new track "Birthday," which has a definitive '80s vibe. Perry called the song "something like Mariah Carey would have put on her first album."

She said that "Unconditionally" was her favorite song on the album, and was proud to have written it. She also debuted "Dark Horse," a Southern rap/techno mix that features rapper Juicy J. 

"I'm very excited to bring visuals to a lot of the songs and play them live," Perry said at the event. 

The first single from Katy's album, "Roar," was an immediate success, and has inundated radio stations with its upbeat, self-affirming anthem. "Roar" pushed Robin Thicke's summer hit "Blurred Lines" from the No. 1 spot on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. She also debuted the video for the song two weeks ago, which features Perry marooned in the jungle. Much like the song's lyrics, at first she is terrified of being alone in the wild, but she finds her inner strength and perseveres. 

"Prism" features the producers Dr. Luke, Klas Ahlund, Sia, Greg Kurstin, Bloodshy and a few others.

Some of the new tracks include emotional lyrics that are most likely a reference to her failed marriage to British comedian Russell Brand. In the song "Double Rainbow" she sings, "one man's trash is another man's treasure," and on "By the Grace of God," she sings, "wasn't going to let love take me out that way."

"Prism" will have 13 tracks, and the deluxe version will have 16. Perry was gleeful at the event, showing her excitement for the new album's impending release. 

"It's the 'Prism' preview. I wanted to show you what my prism can do," she said, laughingly. 

© 2015 Latinos Post. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.