By Jorge Calvillo ( | First Posted: May 06, 2014 09:52 PM EDT

(Photo: Reference, Reuters)

The use of a marijuana strain low in THC (the main psychoactive ingredient of the drug) for medicinal and therapeutic uses was approved last Friday by the Florida Senate, local media reported.

With this resolution, Florida has become the 22nd state in the United States to legalize marijuana with therapeutic purposes.

According to the website The Daily Chronic, the local Senate supported the measure last Friday, during the last day of sessions with a voting of 30 in favor and 9 against. A day before, the House of Representatives finally approved the proposal which Governor Rick Scott will finally sign to turn it into a law.

It's worth noting that this measure will only authorise the use of a specific type of strain known as "Charlotte's Web", a strain which has a high content of cannabidiol (CBD), which can control epyleptic attacks and other illnesses, but is low in tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the main psychoactive compound which creates a strong euphoric state in those who consume the drug.

Days before, a poll carried out by the University of Quinnipiac revealed that 88% of Florida residents agree with the use of marijuana for medicinal uses in the state, a figure that rose 6% in regards to previous polls, according to The Tampa Bay Times in its website.

With the approval on Friday; however, only four dispensaries in Florida, which are strongly regulated, will be authorized to sell marijuana in the state, reported channel 6 South Florida.

According to the same source, the project to legalize cannabis with medicinal uses in Florida was supported by republican Representative Matt Gaetz, with the support of the parents of children who suffer from seizures and epilepsy, who asked legislators for help during previous committee hearings.

Other US entities who have approved similar measures are Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, DC, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Masschusetts, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington.

© 2015 Latinos Post. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.