By Francisco Salazar ( | First Posted: Dec 16, 2013 10:53 PM EST
Tags oscars

(Photo : Warner Bros. )

The Dallas Fort Worth Film Critics have named "12 Years a Slave" the Best Film of the Year.

The win marks the 12th win for the film in a critics' circle. The movie also took home the Best Adapted Screenplay award for John Ridley and the Best Supporting Actress award for Lupita Nyong'o.

Meanwhile, "Gravity" went home with the Best Director award for Alfonso Cuaron, and the Best Cinematography award for Emanuel Lubezki. The Best Score award went to Steven Price for the film.

"Dallas Buyers Club" went home with two awards in the acting categories including Best Actor for Matthew McConaughy and Best Supporting Actor for Jard Leto.

Cate Blanchett won the Best Actress award for her acclaimed performance in "Blue Jasmine."

"Frozen" continued its successful awards race in the Best Animated Film category while "Blue is the Warmest Color" continued to win the Best Foreign Film award.

"Fruitvale Station" was award awarded the Russell Smith prize.

Among the Films that were included in the organization's top 10 were "Gravity," "American Hustle," "Dallas Buyers Club," "Her" "The Wolf of Wall Street," "Captain Phillips," "Inside Llewyn Davis," and "Mud."

The Dallas Fort Worth Film Critics were established in 2009 and consists of 29 broadcast, print and online journalists from throughout North Texas. Among members are Todd Jporgenson from, Boo Allen from Denton Record-Chronicle, and Chase Whale form Twitch. Recent winners for the Critics Association include "Lincoln," "The Descendants" and "Up in The Air."

© 2015 Latinos Post. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.