By Michael Oleaga ( | First Posted: Aug 31, 2012 10:46 AM EDT

Democratic National Convention Committee CEO Kerrigan speaks as COO LeCompte looks on at Time Warner Cable arena in Charlotte. (Photo : Reuters)

The Republican National Convention (RNC) in Tampa is now over, and many political news junkies will now migrate north to Charlotte for the Democratic National Convention (DNC).

The DNC takes place from Sept. 4 to the 6th, from two venues. The first two days will see speakers talk to Americans from the Time Warner Cable Arena and the final day will be in the Bank of America Arena where President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden will formally accept their party's nomination for the 2012 election.

General view of Bank of America stadium site where U.S. President Obama will give his acceptance speech at Democratic National Convention in Charlotte
General view of Bank of America stadium site where U.S. President Obama will give his acceptance speech at Democratic National Convention in Charlotte (Photo Credit: Reuters)

According to the DNC, "This convention is going to be the most open and accessible in history."

The DNC stated that success will depend on grassroots involvement and the engagement of "the American spirit."

The list of speakers has been confirmed, but times and for which of the three days have not been released yet. A variety of speakers include mayors, law students, governors, CEO, Kennedys, former President Bill Clinton, and actress Eva Longoria.

The addition of Longoria might surprise a few but she as chosen as she serves as the "Obama Campaign Co-Chair."

Performers for the DNC include latest "American Idol" runner-up Jessica Sanchez, "Glee" star Amber Riley who previously sang the national anthem at the White House, and the rock band Foo Fighters.

Confirmed Speakers (Courtesy of

Congresswoman Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin

Newark Mayor Cory Booker

Former President Jimmy Carter (via video)

San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro, who will be the first Latino keynote speaker at a Democratic National Convention

Former President Bill Clinton

Former Republican Governor of Florida Charlie Crist

Former Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Tammy Duckworth

Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel

Georgetown Law School Graduate Sandra Fluke

Charlotte Mayor Anthony Foxx

Former Michigan Governor Jennifer Granholm

California Attorney General Kamala D. Harris

Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper

Montana State Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau

Former Virginia Governor Tim Kaine

Lieutenant General Claudia Kennedy (ret.)

Congresswoman Barbara Lee of California

CarMax co-founder and former CEO Austin Ligon

President of NARAL Pro-Choice America Nancy Keenan

Caroline Kennedy

Women's rights activist Lilly Ledbetter

Obama Campaign Co-Chair Eva Longoria

U.S. Senator John Kerry of Massachusetts

Connecticut Governor Dannel Malloy

Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter

U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski of Maryland, together with the women of the U.S. Senate

Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley

Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick

President of Planned Parenthood Action Fund Cecile Richards

Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak

Journalist Cristina Saralegui

Costco co-founder and former CEO Jim Sinegal

Former Ohio Governor Ted Strickland

Los Angeles Mayor, Democratic Convention Chair Antonio Villaraigosa

Senate candidate from Massachusetts Elizabeth Warren

Congressman G.K. Butterfield of North Carolina

Lieutenant Governor of North Carolina Walter Dalton

The Honorable Arne Duncan

Former Charlotte Mayor Harvey Gantt

U.S. Senator Kay Hagan of North Carolina

Former Governor of North Carolina Jim Hunt

The Honorable Karen Mills

Congressman David Price of North Carolina

The Honorable Ken Salazar

The Honorable Kathleen Sebelius

The Honorable Tom Vilsack

Congressman Mel Watt of North Carolina

Confirmed Performers:

Tuesday, Sept. 4 (Time Warner Cable Arena)
DJ Cassidy
Amber Riley (national anthem)

Wednesday, Sept. 5 (Time Warner Cable Arena)
DJ Cassidy
Jessica Sanchez
Branford Marsalis (national anthem)

Thursday, Sept. 6 (Bank of America Stadium)
Foo Fighters
Mary J. Blige
Earth, Wind and Fire
James Taylor
Delta Rae
Inspire the Fire
Marc Anthony (national anthem)

© 2015 Latinos Post. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.